Bishop Martin Breytenbach

Stompie travels around the Diocese with †Martin, sharing his preaching and teaching ministry.

The Diocesan Office at 29 Devenish Street

The Diocesan Centre at 29 Devenish Street, Polokwane

Bishop's (Final) Report to Diocesan Standing Committee

November 2018

Please click on Bishop's Report to DSC (November 2018) to see what †Martin presented to Diocesan Standing Committee.

In this report †Martin reflected on Diocesan Synod and the action that needs to take place as a result of the decisions we made. He also gave more information about the process of electing a new Diocesan Bishop after his retirement. As can be seen in the "Final Final" version of the Diocesan Diary for 2019:

  • The Diocesan farewell to Bishop Martin and Colleen will take place at Christ Church Cathedral on Saturday 16th March at 11:00. More details will follow,,,
  • The election of the new Diocesan Bishop is scheduled for 9th-11th July 2019. Archbishop Thabo Makgob, with the help of the Electoral Advisory Committee, will preside over the process.

Anglicans Ablaze Sets the Church on Fire!

Please see this report from the Anglican Church News Service to read of the amazing Anglicans Ablaze Conference from 3rd tp 6th October 2018.

And click on Listening Group Report to read what God was saying to us during the conference.

Please go to the Anglicans Ablaze Website for photographs and plenty of other information. 

 Diocesan Diary for 2019

The final Diocesan Diary for 2019 has been published. It is different from most years because of †Martin's retirement at the end of February and the election of a new Diocesan Bishop later in the year (scheduled for 9th-11th July).

Please click on Diocesan Diary 2019 to get more information - including access to the Diocesan Google Calendar and pdf versions of the Diary and Diary Notes.

Please continue to pray for the process of †Martin's retirement and the election, consecration and installation of the new Bishop!

Diocesan Synod 2018

the 12th Diocesan Synod of the Diocese of St Mark the Evangelist took place from Thursday 16th to Sunday 19th August 2018 at Christ Church, Polokwane. To find out more, and access documents (including the Acts and Resolutions), reports and many photographs, please click on "Diocesan Synod 2018".


The Diocese is organised into 5 departments, and the Parishes are grouped into 7 Archdeaconries

The Parishes tab at the top of this page will lead you to the Archdeaconries and the parishes that make up each Archdeaconry. Most of our parishes are made up of many chapelries and congregations, each of which has the same "status" - we do not have "mother churches" or "outstations".


The Departments are:

1) The Bishop's Ministry

2) Governance

3) Growing the Church

4) Development

5) Organisations


The Parishes are organised into 7 Archdeaconries:

1) Kopanong

2) Lepelle

3) Mopani

4) Vhembe

5) Waterberg

6) West

7) South West

Click on the tabs and the top of the page to learn more


Diocese of St Mark the Evangelist
(Anglican Church of Southern Africa)

Street address:
29 Devenish Street
Limpopo Province
Republic of South Africa

Postal address:
P.O Box 643

Telephone: +27 15 297 3297
Fax: +27 15 297 0408

Our Vision

To make disciples in vibrant, self-sufficient congregations established and linked to each other by sharing in:
   * Resources
   * Ministry and service
   * Outreach and evangelism

Our Goals

Every parish aims to have:
  1. A stipendiary rector to give leadership
  2. A team of self-supporting (“community”) clergy
  3. Many lay leaders – licensed, elected and appointed
  4. A church supported youth pastor
  5. All members discovering their gifts and using them in ministry & mission
  6. Community development and work-creating projects wherever we have property.

Sign In