Bishop Martin Breytenbach

Stompie travels around the Diocese with †Martin, sharing his preaching and teaching ministry.

The Diocesan Office at 29 Devenish Street

The Diocesan Centre at 29 Devenish Street, Polokwane

Prayer for South Africa - April 2017

Lord, grant us a vision for our land;

a land of justice, where none shall prey on others;

a land of plenty, where poverty shall cease to fester;

a land of work, where all can be employed;

a land of openness, where all are accepted as equal;

a land of healing, where hatred and racial prejudice exist no more;

a land of peace which is free of violence;

and bring this vision to fruition, for Jesus Christ’s sake. Amen.

Together with many others, we in the church pray daily for South Africa and our leaders (political, spiritual, in business and every sphere of life). We are in a time of serious leadership crisis! Here are two statements from the South African Council of Churches. 


Bishop Martin's "Ad Clerum" - Letter to the Diocese - for Easter 2017 has been published

You can find it and download it and the items referred to in it by going to Ad Clerum 2017

Diocesan Diary for 2017

Please click on the appropriate words to download the information:

The Diocesan Diary for 2017 and Diary Notes have been published.

You can also go to the Google Calendar on this web site to see what is happening in the Diocese and further afield.

The Diocese is organised into 5 departments, and the Parishes are grouped into 7 Archdeaconries

The Parishes tab at the top of this page will lead you to the Archdeaconries and the parishes that make up each Archdeaconry. Most of our parishes are made up of many chapelries and congregations, each of which has the same "status" - we do not have "mother churches" or "outstations".


The Departments are:

  1. The Bishop's Ministry

  2. Governance

  3. Growing the Church

  4. Development

  5. Organisations


The Parishes are organised into 7 Archdeaconries:

  1. Kopanong

  2. Lepelle

  3. Mopani

  4. Vhembe

  5. Waterberg

  6. West

  7. South West

Click on the tabs and the top of the page to learn more


Diocese of St Mark the Evangelist
(Anglican Church of Southern Africa)

Street address:
29 Devenish Street
Limpopo Province
Republic of South Africa

Postal address:
P.O Box 643

Telephone: +27 15 297 3297
Fax: +27 15 297 0408

Our Vision

To make disciples in vibrant, self-sufficient congregations established and linked to each other by sharing in:
   * Resources
   * Ministry and service
   * Outreach and evangelism

Our Goals

Every parish aims to have:
  1. A stipendiary rector to give leadership
  2. A team of self-supporting (“community”) clergy
  3. Many lay leaders – licensed, elected and appointed
  4. A church supported youth pastor
  5. All members discovering their gifts and using them in ministry & mission
  6. Community development and work-creating projects wherever we have property.

Sign In